Opposition Parties' Boycott of Parliament Inauguration Sparks Controversy and Accusations of Disrespect for Democracy"


The National Democratic Alliance (NDA), a political alliance led by the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), of the decision made by 19 opposition parties to boycott the inauguration of the new Parliament building on May 28. The NDA criticizes the opposition parties for their alleged disrespect towards parliamentary procedures and their disregard for democratic processes.
According to the NDA, the opposition parties’ decision to boycott the inauguration is seen as a blatant affront to the democratic ethos and constitutional values of the nation. The statement accuses the opposition of repeatedly showing scant regard for parliamentary procedures, disrupting sessions, staging walkouts during crucial legislations, and demonstrating a lackadaisical attitude towards their parliamentary duties.
The NDA further accuses the opposition of hypocrisy, highlighting instances where they themselves had boycotted sessions and ceremonies in the past. The opposition parties had boycotted a special GST session presided over by former president Pranab Mukherjee, skipped a ceremony where Mukherjee was awarded the Bharat Ratna, and extended a “late courtesy call” to President Ramnath Kovind upon his election.
On the other hand, the 19 opposition parties, including the Congress, TMC, SP, and AAP, have justified their decision to boycott the inauguration by stating that they find no value in a new building when they believe the “soul of democracy has been sucked out.” They criticize Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s decision to inaugurate the new Parliament building without involving President Droupadi Murmu, considering it a grave insult and a direct assault on democracy.
The new Parliament building, a multi-billion-dollar project, is set to be inaugurated on May 28 by Prime Minister Modi following an invitation by Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla. The four-storey building is intended to accommodate over 1,200 Members of Parliament (MPs).